Philippians 2:3-4

As I was reading the verse of the day from Biblegateway, I was immediately convicted. I think it is a great read that we all need to remember.

 

Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.

Philippians 2:3-4 ESV

philippians

 

How many times have I looked more to my own needs than others? How many times have I looked to the needs of others only to go right back to my own out of worry? Too many to count I think. But I believe God is working in us all as we seek His perfect will. And I believe we can all put others above ourselves.

This is not to say not to ever take care of ourselves, we need to. But it is so important to think of others as well. I was feeling so down in the midst of hormones. Kind of sad but I couldn’t cry. Just a mess. Then I realized how I am so blessed to even be here and how even though I don’t feel well, I can pray. I can do small things for others and once I started to pray for others and praise the Lord, it helped me put things into better perspective. It helped me to understand once again I am not the only person in this world.

And so I admit I can be selfish at times. I am a sinful person but I also admit that with God’s grace He is working through me and I pray He continues to do so not only for me, but through others as well.

 

Heavenly Father,

Thank You so much for Jesus dying for our sins and the forgiveness that You offer. For continually flowing living waters that come only from You. Lord thank You for Your many blessings. Please help us all to be grateful and praise You always and think of others as well. Help show us Lord and guide us as to how we can be better servants. Show us what we can do for others, even if it is to just simply encourage them or pray for them. Lord forgive us all when we are selfish and sinful. Forgive us when we first look to our own interests. Help us to be molded more and more into Your image until the day You take us to our eternal home. And Lord I pray for salvation for those who are not saved. May they be saved and may we spread the gospel as much as possible in love and truth.

 

In Jesus Name Amen

Leave a Reply

