Fall is coming.

I am pretty happy that fall will be here soon. I think that each season has its special characteristics from the Lord, just like each season in life. I am reminded of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8.

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:

a time to be born, and a time to die;
a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
a time to kill, and a time to heal;
a time to break down, and a time to build up;
a time to weep, and a time to laugh;
a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together;
a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
a time to seek, and a time to lose;
a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
a time to tear, and a time to sew;
a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
a time to love, and a time to hate;
a time for war, and a time for peace.

Anyhow, as previously mentioned, I am happy about my favorite season of the year coming. I am hoping this will be my best fall yet since relocating. Anyone who relocates may understand the difficulties involved. There are some hardships but also blessings.

I am a small town girl from New England who now resides in the Midwest. I have no regrets and deeply love the church I am a member of, the couple of friends I have, and of course my new little family consisting of my husband and our combined kitties. But there are things I miss about New England to be honest and so I thought I would just take a few moments to share and maybe someday someone reading this will relate. Maybe not but the Lord will surely understand, for He understands all.

Relocating now means no more little church where everyone pretty much knew everyone’s name. No more walks on the little street I walked on for years and pretty much grew up on most of my life. And no more walks with my brother or him barging in my bedroom with his guitar to make me laugh. No more regularly seeing my family. No more maple candy! Well, my husband found a great way to order it online for me but out here, they don’t even know what that is. No more random Walmart trips with my dad with our awkward small talk. No more prayer spot in the schoolyard. No more of so many things that I deeply miss from time to time, not to mention the animals who have passed away since my move.

But this will be my third fall out here in the Midwest and there is a lot to look forward to. Beautiful foliage is still here just like in New England. Midweek church services which my church back in my home state only had during Advent and Lent. New traditions being created with my husband. My friend in the nursing home having her special Thanksgiving dinner. Hopefully some nice walks in the park with my wonderful husband. My medications that are helping me with some mental health issues I have. All of the seasonal treats that are here and in my New England like pumpkin pies, pumpkin spiced coffee, candy corn, etc.

So while I miss my family back in my home state and while I miss my old church, there is excitement for what the Lord has in store. I have only been married a year and officially living out here around 2 and a half years. Some things take time for me and perhaps others I guess. We all have a different pace.

I eagerly look forward to the plans God has in store for me and my favorite season coming soon even if that means reflecting on the things I miss. Ultimately Heaven is our true home, our forever home. It will be so beautiful and full of praising the Lord and so much joy. And I pray my family will all come to salvation so that one day, we will never ever have to part. I miss them. I love them.

Now I have a new family. Now I am really learning the “cleaving” part of “leaving and cleaving” but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Heavenly Father,

I pray that You mold me, and help all of those adapting to new situations. I pray that You help us to see the good and blessings in everything You have given us, most importantly Jesus as atonement for our sins. Lord help all of those who are newly married and/or recently relocated to cherish the memories but also make new ones as You guide them through life’s changes. Help them to be positive and overcome obstacles by trusting in You.

In Jesus Name, Amen

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.- Numbers 6:24-26

Leave a Reply

